Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

13012781_1605447593107845_2422431378755679839_n

Every once and a while I think I have a brilliant idea about something to write about but I’ve been writing my blog long enough now, that I know that I often need to go and see if I’ve written about that particular thing before. It’s not that I mind writing about the same subject more than once, it’s that I hate it when I write a post and then realize that I wrote almost the same post six months or a year earlier.

Today was almost one of those days. My plan was to write a post about all the metaphors for life I have learned from playing tennis. Anyone who regularly reads my blog knows how important this game is to me and how after getting physically sick, it has become even more important because it is a game I almost had to stop playing. After doing a search, I have apparently written about this idea before…several times in fact…and I’m going to again now but hopefully with some originality. While I was on the tennis court today several thoughts about this game and what it has taught me popped in my head so instead of telling you a story, as I so often have before, I’m just going share the thoughts I had today as they occurred to me. All of them apply to both the game tennis and the game of life:

Tennis has taught me that when you take your eye off the ball you lose the point…every time.

Tennis has taught me that in order to win, you’ve got to play.

Tennis has taught me that being strong and fast matter but being smart matters more.

Tennis has taught me to have fun.

Tennis has taught me that sometimes the risky shot is the winning shot.

Tennis has taught me the importance of stepping forward.

Tennis has taught me to never to give up.

Tennis has taught me to stay focused on what I want.

Tennis has taught me that I can always play better.

Tennis has taught me the importance of being a gracious loser.

Tennis has taught me that when I miss a shot, it’s best to let it go and move on.

Tennis has taught me that anger does nothing to improve my game.

Tennis has taught me patience.

Tennis has taught me to value practice time.

Tennis has taught me that if you want it, you’ve got to work for it.

Tennis has taught me the power of positive energy.

Tennis has taught me that when I am lazy I will miss opportunities.

Tennis has taught me to keep moving.

