Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

img_5221

Standing on the shore of a roaring sea, light piercing through the low dark clouds, I am in awe of what I see. I am reminded of my place on this planet. I am but a speck, a dot, a tiny cog in a giant wheel. I am insignificant. I am small.

Standing on the shore of a roaring sea, the waves crashing upon the sand with a bellowing boom, I am reminded of my station in this world. I am but a spot, a splash, a bitty branch on a big big tree, maybe even only a leaf or a bud.

Standing on the shore of a roaring sea, the wind pelting my face, a warm breeze blows through my hair, I am reminded of my limits, of a world I cannot see and creatures I will never meet, of the life that thrives just below the surface of waves that roll up over my feet.

Standing on the shore of a roaring sea, the light, the sand, the waves and the wind beckon me. They beg me to take notice, to stop and appreciate the massive expanse that is before me and to know that I am nothing, to appreciate that I am inconsequential.

Standing on the shore of a roaring sea, my ego is smashed, my defenses are down. I am reminded of my place on this planet, of my role in the universe and I become deeply and personally aware that there is so much more than me. I am left speechless by the sheer beauty of I know I can never understand.

