Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

13063469_10153510428036570_1519763575635816341_o.jpg

Living with a disease like sarcoidosis creates certain challenges. Much is out of my control. Yet what I choose to put in my body isn’t and what I choose to put in my body makes a difference in my health, chronic condition or not. Ever since my sarcoidosis diagnosis, I have become passionate about improving my health any way I can and one way is through the food that I eat. This is why I have a dedicated a page at the top of my blog to healthy recipes.

I happen to be a vegan. I was a already a vegetarian when I got sick so becoming a vegan was not a huge leap for me. It’s not a diet everyone can handle and I don’t necessarily advocate it for everyone. What I do advocate, is that folks explore better health through what they do eat. After all, can’t we all do a better job making healthier choices?

Cutting out all dairy for me, has helped ease my breathing and lessen my chest tightness. It has also had a positive effect on my skin and it has lessened my fatigue and reduced my body aches and pains. Diet is not a cure for sarcoidosis, it is simply one tool in my control to help me manage the symptoms of my disease and I am so glad that I’ve taken charge of it because I have learned that I truly am what I eat!

Here’s a healthy yam and kale salad recipe that also happens to be quite delicious!

Ingredients:

  1. 2 small/medium size yams – skinned and cut into pieces
  2. 1 medium sweet yellow onion – diced
  3. 2 bunches of kale – stemmed and torn into bit size pieces
  4. 3 Tablespoons olive oil
  5. 1/2 (or more) walnuts
  6. 1/2 (or more) raisins (dried cranberries are a nice substitute)
  7. 2 Tablespoons red vinegar
  8. 3 (at least) cloves of minced garlic

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees and while the oven heats, skin and cut up the potatoes. Put them in a bowl and cover them with olive oil. Once the oven is heated, bake them for about 20 to 25 minutes – take them out and let them cool when done.
  2. Put the diced onions in a large skillet with olive oil and cook for about 10 to 15 minutes – until onions begin to caramelize, adding the garlic about half way through.
  3. Stir in kale and continue cooking until kale wilts but is still a nice bright green – add a touch more olive oil if the pan gets too dry.
  4. Remove the skillet from the stove top and let cool.
  5. Once the potatoes and the onion and kale mixtures have cooled – mix them together in a large bowl, add in the raisins and walnuts and then toss with the red vinegar.
