Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

books-20clip-20art-9TzE5paTE

I love to read. Reading helps me escape. It takes me places I might not otherwise go. Reading keeps my mind sharp and my imagination sparked. Reading helps me be a better thinker.

Over the years, I have collected quotes from things that I have read. Here are just a few of them from only a small sampling of interesting words…

“How did it get so late so soon?”
Dr. Seuss

“I’m quite illiterate, but I read a lot. ”
J.D Salinger from The Catcher in the Rye

“In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.”
Robert Frost

“How useful it would be to put a daily limit on self pity. Just a few tearful minutes, then on with the day.”
Mitch Albom from Tuesdays With Morrie

“There is no dishonor in losing the race. There is only dishonor in not racing because you are afraid to lose.”
Garth Stein, The Art of Racing in the Rain

“Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.”
Dr. Seuss

“The truth is, once you learn how to die, you learn how to live.”
Mitch Albom from Tuesdays with Morrie

“So much of language is unspoken. So much of language is compromised of looks and gestures and sounds that are not words. People are ignorant of the vast complexity of their own communication.”
Garth Stein from The Art of Racing in the Rain

“I lie to myself all the time. But I never believe me.”
S.E Hinton from The Outsiders

“You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view… Until you climb inside of his skin and walk around in it.”
― Harper Lee from To Kill a Mockingbird

To separate oneself from the burden, the angst, the anguish that we all encounter everyday. To say I am alive, I am wonderful, I am. I am. That is something to aspire to.”
― Garth Stein from The Art of Racing in the Rain

“Once you are real you can’t become unreal again. It lasts for always.”
Margery Williams from The Veleteen Rabbit

“Things were rough all over, but it was better that way. That way you could tell the other guy was human too.”
― S. E Hinton from The Outsiders 

People generally see what they look for, and hear what they listen for.”
― Harper Lee from To Kill a Mockingbird

“How pointless life could be, what a foolish business of inventing things to love, just so you could dread losing them.”
Barbara Kingslover from The Prodigal Summer

Real courage is when you know you’re licked before you begin, but you begin anyway and see it through no matter what.”
― Harper Lee from To Kill a Mockingbird

“Don’t ever tell anybody anything. If you do, you start missing everybody.”
J.D Salinger from The Catcher in the Rye

“It’s never an insult to be called what somebody thinks is a bad name. It just shows you how poor that person is, it doesn’t hurt you.”
Harper Lee from To Kill a Mockingbird

“I thought I wouldn’t live through it. But you do. You learn to love the place somebody leaves behind for you.”
Barbara Kingslover from The Prodigal Summer

“Among other things, you’ll find that you’re not the first person who was ever confused and frightened and even sickened by human behavior. You’re by no means alone on that score, you’ll be excited and stimulated to know. Many, many men have been just as troubled morally and spiritually as you are right now. Happily, some of them kept records of their troubles. You’ll learn from them—if you want to. Just as someday, if you have something to offer, someone will learn something from you. It’s a beautiful reciprocal arrangement. And it isn’t education. It’s history. It’s poetry.”
J. D Salinger from The Catcher in the Rye

