Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

images

On the last day of our beach vacation, I awoke with a pang in my heart. I did not want to go home. I did not want to go back to reality. I wanted to stay at the beach and continue communing with the sea.

But alas, all vacations must end. So instead of brooding over this inevitability, I made a decision to live like this was the last best day of my life. I wasn’t going to worry about the laundry that needed to be done or the packing that beckoned…not yet anyway.

I pushed down that creeping feeling of doom as thoughts of home attempted to creep their way into my brain. I put on my bathing suit and headed for the beach. I swam in the ocean and put my face to the sun. I listened to the calming ease of the waves as they washed over me. I was utterly and entirely in the moment.

Exactly how life is meant to be lived.

