Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

download

I have always loved this Robert Frost poem. It’s one of my all time favorites. He speaks with such eloquence about the passage and fragility of time that little more can be said.

But now that I have a chronic condition, I am so much more mindful of time. Not just of its passage, but of its elusive nature. I’ve written about the passage of time in my blog posts before, albeit with far less beauty and imagination than Mr. Frost.

He’s right though, that “nothing gold can stay”. Beauty is fleeting. We must cherish its presence in our life when it choses to make itself known to us, for it will not last and what remains in its wake is often the decayed remains of our regret.

We take our health, our youth, our innocence for granted. We don’t know that they will change. We are ignorant to their whims, until they evaporate.

This poem speaks to the purity of youth and how hard it is to hang on to. Even nature cannot do it. When I read this poem now that I am chronically ill, I can see that I too once took not only my youth for granted, but also my health.

I was once full of vigor, of energy, of vitality. I was golden.

I was a flower full of the beauty of a first bloom.

But then I was diagnosed with this hideous disease and my “dawn went down to day” and then slowly into night.

It’s true that “nothing gold can stay.”

