Tags

, , , , , , ,

images

  • 1 + 2/3 cups plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2/3 cup sugar (brown or white, doesn’t matter)
  • A pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup + 2 tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 1 cup soy milk
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 2 tbsp natural crunchy peanut butter
  1. Pre-heat the oven to 350ºF. Line a standard loaf tin with baking parchment.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, combine the first 4 ingredients.
  3. If you haven’t melted the coconut oil yet, do so now (either in the microwave oven for about half a minute or in a double-broiler). Whisk the oil, milk and vanilla extract together in a bowl or cup, then fold into the dry ingredients.
  4. Pour half of the batter into a separate bowl. In one bowl, fold in the 2 tbsp of cocoa powder; in the other, mix in the peanut butter.
  5. Now pour half of the peanut butter batter at the bottom of the lined tin. Spread out with a spatula, then do the same with the chocolate batter. Repeat with the remainder of the PB batter, and finish with the rest of the chocolate batter.
  6. Bake in the oven for 50-60 minutes. Insert a skewer; if it comes out clean, the cake is ready.
  7. Leave on a wire rack to cool COMPLETELY before removing from the tin and slicing.

Note: I just made this tonight for the first time. It’s good but I would suggest using twice the peanut butter than in the original recipe above…that’s what I will be doing when I make this again.

I used brown sugar….but as the recipe says…you can use either brown or white…I might try white next time to see if that changes the flavor…just out of curiosity…not because I didn’t like the brown sugar.

And definitely make sure the coconut oil is melted…completely…Mine wasn’t so the baked product ended up with some coconut chunks in it. It’s okay but kind of weird.

Oh – and I didn’t have soy milk so I used almond milk and it was fine. I prefer almond milk anyway.

