Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

index

When I first read this quote, I thought it was stupid…too simplistic…but then I got thinking about it and it’s true. While I am ultimately responsible for my own health and well being, as we all are, having a chronic condition does require help. While I loath to admit that I need help, I have also come to realize that I am made stronger by the strength of others.

I need to do the things required of me which are to get enough sleep, eat a healthy diet, exercise and reduce stress. I need to push myself when I should and rest when I need it. While sometimes my disease is an explanation, it should not be used as an excuse. I need to follow my doctors advice and work in partnership with my healthcare providers.

But, I also need the love and support of my family and my friends to survive my experience. I cannot do this by myself because to be sick without support is to be utterly alone.

Some family and some friends are better about supporting me than others. I know who to lean on and who I can trust. I have been disappointed by some and hurt by others but I cannot hold it against them because the resentment will only hurt me more.

I know who has been by my side through this journey and who hasn’t. I need people around me, willing to be part of my village. Why? Because the love and support of others, given without judgement, fuels me and when I am energized, I can fight and when I fight I can live, as completely as I am able despite my disease.

I cannot do this alone and I do want to be well. I thank the people who are part of my village, those of you who pray for me, those who encourage me, those who make me laugh and those who strive to understand my experience. You help me more than I can say and your willingness to remain my strength when I am weak, keeps me whole.

