Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Looking for new vegan summer recipes, I came across this although like many recipes…I modified it a bit to suit my taste….You should never be afraid to change a recipe a little if you think it will make you like it better!

Here’s What You Need:

4 medium sized Haas avocados (or 5 small) – Or purchase store bought guacamole if you want to…I do this sometimes because I have a heck of a time buying ripe avocados…plus pulling their pits out is a pain…
Juice of 2 limes…better yet…get a small bottle of lime juice….easier!
Sea salt to taste
1 tsp maple syrup…I used a tablespoon (wanted to finish the bottle) and it was really good!
1 1/2 cups (packed) shredded curly kale
1 sweet bell pepper, diced – I didn’t happen to have a green pepper handy so I left this out…didn’t miss it.
1/2 cup zucchini, diced
1/2 cup diced red onion
1/2 jalapeno pepper, seeded and minced – not a hot and spicy kind of person so I used a little chili powder instead…very good.
1 1/2 cups cooked chickpeas – I used a can of chickpeas -rinsed….very good…right amount.
2-4 sweet bell peppers (depending on size) – cut in half with seeds removed (I used 2 yellow and 1 big red pepper…the color was really nice!)

(Oh and I added a bunch of diced green onion too…added a little of additional flavor)

How To Prepare:

  • Mix the avocado or guacamole with the salt, lime juice and maple syrup – but keep a few chunks
  • Add the kale – make sure it is shredded so the leaves aren’t too big
  • Then stir in all of the other ingredients
  • Mix together so everything is coated in the avocado mixture
  • Stuff peppers and serve

red pepper

NOTES: I served sweet potato fries on the side…very nice. I think a nice fruit salad would also make a nice side dish for this.

