Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Tofu Scramble…Vegan and Gluten Free

We had this the other night and it was WAY better than I thought it was going to be. It’s really a substitute for scrambled eggs, so we had a fruit salad on the side. I was surprised at the flavor and just how much I liked it.

Ingredients
1 to 2 tablespoons of olive oil or so…I didn’t actually measure how much I used.
1 small or medium onion – diced
3 cloves garlic – or more…I use more…I LOVE garlic – minced
5 roma tomatoes – diced
1 lb. extra-firm tofu – crumbled (after you pat it dry of course)
1 tsp. cumin
1 tsp. smoked paprika
1/4 tsp. turmeric
Large handful baby spinach (or more…I suggest more…much more…)
Go Veggie Shredded Cheese – as much as you feel like adding
Salt to taste

Directions
Dice onion and mince garlic.
In a large pan over medium heat, saute onion with a little salt for 7-8 minutes with minced garlic. Add crumbled tofu and tomato. Cook about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. While the tofu is cooking, put the cumin, paprika, and turmeric in a small bowl and mix together. Add seasonings to pan. Stir well to combine. Add spinach and cook another 3 minutes or until spinach begins to wilt. Add Go Veggie Cheese and stir until all ingredients are combined nicely.

Lisa Curry's photo.
