Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

images

What drives our desires? What pushes us to reach a little higher or dig a little deeper? These are interesting questions to me because as I look back on my life, my motivations change as I age and as my life circumstances change.

What drove me as a twenty something isn’t what drives me as a forty something. When I was younger, I thought I knew it all. Now that I am older, I understand that I don’t really know anything at all.

My youthful determination to prove myself has turned into self acceptance.

What motivates me now is different as my health has changed. My idea of what is important has changed and as these expectations have changed so too has my motivation.

I am still a driven person. I have great enthusiasm for life but I no longer feel ambitious. I no longer feel competitive. I am still determined but I am no longer hungry for success. I no longer need to achieve big goals to know myself.

Even though I know now that I don’t really know anything at all, there is one thing that is certain. Life is short. Life is precious.

I’ve already wasted too much time being motivated by the wrong things. No amount of money is going to make me happy. No amount of career success was ever going to be enough.

My biggest goal now is to live a quiet life surrounded by the love of my husband and my dogs in my beautiful home…one day at a time. This might seem simplistic to most people but I am happier now that I have ever been.

My motivation is to experience love.

My motivation is to a good wife.

My motivation is to know gratitude.

My motivation is to be free of regret.

My motivation is to be at peace.

