Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

images

I’ve been thinking about the question “just because you can, should you?” lately, especially as I think about how it applies to freedom. And, I can’t help thinking of the Bob Dylan quote, “A hero is someone who understands the responsibility that comes with his freedom.”

Just because I am free to say and do whatever I want, does that really mean I should also have the right to cowardly hide behind the same freedom to say or do harmful things, to incite hate, to promote intolerance?

The difficult truth behind the answer to this question is that it is yes. Freedom does in fact give us that right.

But, should we exercise it?

Freedom is a privilege that we don’t all get to share. And since it is such a coveted liberty, it should be treated with the utmost care.

And this leads me back to my original question…”just because you can…should you?”

