Tags

, , , , , , ,

index

Okay, I made this earlier this week and it was really tasty. We really enjoyed it!

Here’s what you need:

  • I Cup Brown Rice – cook per package instructions (You can use any rice you want…I prefer brown rice to all others) – rule of thumb with rice….one cup rice to two cups water
  • Olive Oil…about three teaspoons…I never measure
  • I Large Onion – diced – I like to use sweet yellow onions for a nice flavor
  • 1 Large Red pepper – you could probably use whatever type of pepper you want but I like the flavor of red and it adds a nice color
  • 3 cloves garlic – crushed – or more if you like…I like more!
  • 1 14 oz can diced tomatoes (I like to use no added sodium)
  • 3 cups diced zucchini
  • 1 tablespoon dried oregano
  • Fresh basil chopped – as much you like…I usually use about 1/4 cup
  • salt and pepper to your taste
  • 2 15 oz cans cannelini beans – drained
  • 1 6 or 8 oz can of tomato paste

How To Prepare:

  • Cook rice per package instructions
  • Heat oil in a separate medium saucepan over medium heat
  • Stir in onion, red bell pepper, and garlic, and cook until tender
  • Mix in tomatoes and zucchini
  • Season with oregano, salt, and pepper
  • Stir in tomato paste
  • Reduce heat, cover, and simmer 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  • Stir cannellini beans and fresh basil into the tomato and zucchini mixture, and continue cooking about 10 minutes

Serve over the cooked rice.

Add a little shredded cheese if you’d like and if you’re a vegan like I am you can use a vegan substitute cheese.

ENJOY!

