Tags

, , , , , ,

index

There are all kinds of veggie chili recipes and ways to make it. I keep it pretty simple. You can make this in a pot over a stove or in a slow cooker….my stove top doesn’t simmer, tends to be too hot. So, I prefer the slow cooker. Your choice!

Here’s What You Need:

  • 2 to 4 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1 Large Red or Orange Pepper – chopped
  • 1 can of black beans (I buy reduced sodium beans)
  • 1 can of red kidney beans (same…I prefer the reduced sodium)
  • 1 can of tomato paste (10 oz at least)
  • 2 cans of diced tomato
  • 1 large yellow onion – diced (I’m a sucker for the sweet yellow onions)
  • Garlic – 2 to 3 cloves – minced
  • Chili powder (here’s where it gets interesting…I never measure it but if you want me to hazard a guess…I’d say at least a tablespoon…I probably use more)
  • Cumin (Same problem…I don’t measure but you probably can’t go wrong with 1 tablespoon here too)
  • 1 package of ground soy – frozen
  • Mushrooms chopped (optional – I use them sometimes when I have them but other times I don’t)
  • 1 package frozen corn (also optional…sometimes I use it and sometimes I don’t)

How To Prepare:

  • Add olive oil to a big pot or slow cooker
  • Add diced onions, sliced peppers, garlic
  • Add in cans of diced tomato – with juice
  • Add in black beans and kidney beans with – juice
  • Add in mushrooms – if you opted to use them
  • Add in ground soy (GMO Free)
  • Mix together
  • Add in chili powder and cumin – mix again
  • Add in paste – mix again
  • Add in frozen corn – if you opted to use it

NOTE: This is a very mild chili, so if you like spicy things you can add red pepper flakes or some jalapeno peppers…

If you are using a pot over the stove, bring to a boil and then simmer for 45 minutes to an hour – don’t burn it and stir frequently.

If you are using a slower cooker – cook on high for 4 hours or low for 8 hours depending on the time you have/need.

We really like to serve this with cut celery slices filled with peanut butter. If you like bread, it’s nice to serve with some warm french or italian bread…

Leftover chili is good with brown rice.

ENJOY!

