Tags

, , , , ,

images

There was a time when tofu scared me. I had no idea where to buy it or how to cook it. I didn’t understand the different textures of it it, soft, silken, firm, extra firm! Well as it turns out, you can buy tofu in your local grocery store! And the texture isn’t as overwhelming as I first thought either because the recipe tells you what texture to purchase. Since I started cooking tofu, I have found it to be a great meat alternative which in my case, is a good thing seeing as I’m a vegan and all.

So, don’t be afraid of tofu!

I made this recipe the other night and it was really DE-LISH!

Here’s what you need:

  • 2 bunches of green onions
  • 1 14 oz light coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce (divided)
  • 1/2 teaspoon of brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon curry powder (There are different kinds of curry powder so you can control how hot to make this dish. I happen to be a wimp so I use a mild curry powder)
  • 1 teaspoon fresh minced ginger (I didn’t get this at the grocery store so I used powered ginger…seemed to be fine)
  • 2 teaspoons chile paste (I didn’t have any of this handy so I used chile powder and it was fine – the paste would probably have spiced it up though…so if you like spice…go for the paste)
  • 1 package (1 pound) of firm or extra firm tofu (I prefer extra firm) – cubed
  • 4 or 5 plum tomatoes – diced
  • 1 large yellow pepper – thinly sliced
  • 4 oz of fresh mushrooms sliced (I used baby portobello mushrooms sliced – you can use any mushrooms you want…or Betty since you don’t like mushrooms sikp them!)
  • 1/4 cup of basil – chopped
  • 4 cups bok choy (I like to use baby bok choy…easier in the pan)
  • salt to taste

How to prepare:

  • I chopped all my stuff first so I had everything ready – cut the green onion into 2 inch pieces, dice the tomatoes, chop the yellow pepper, cut up the mushrooms
  • Now, when you open the tofu packaging, you will find it packed in water. Pour out the water and take a paper towel and pat dry the tofu…you can even squeeze it a little to get the excess juice out of it. Then cut the tofu into cubes
  • Chop your fresh basil
  • Cut the bottom of the bok choy so the leaves are free from each other
  • Okay, now the prep work is done, let’s make it the stuff…
  • In a large skillet, add the coconut milk, soy sauce, curry powder, ginger, brown sugar and chile paste (or powder)
  • Bring it to a boil – stir occasionally
  • Now mix in all the ingredients expect the bok choy and the basil, stir on medium heat, cover and cook for about 5 to 7 minutes – stirring occasionally to make sure all the ingredients are covered in juice
  • Then add the bok choy and basil and cook another 5 minutes until bok choy begins to wilt but don’t over cook – stir occasionally

This can be served over rice or on its own. It can be a little watery so rice is a nice addition.

I suppose if you are meat eater…yuck…you could make this with chicken instead of tofu. I thought it was really tasty just as it is but my hubby added some store bought peanut sauce for an extra kick.

ENJOY!

