Tags

, , , ,

images

My friend Betty recently sent me a vegan cookie recipe. I decided to use dark chocolate chips instead of raisins (mostly because I didn’t happen to have any raisins at the time) but these were pretty good and relatively guilt free. So, if you’re not a vegan but you’re feeling brave, give them a try!

Here’s What You Need:

  • 3 mashed bananas (ripe…really ripe)
  • 1/3 cup apple sauce
  • 2 cups oats
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup raisins (I used dark chocolate chips – you could probably add walnuts or dried cranberries too if you wanted to)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp cinnamon (I used 2 for more flavor)

Preparation:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • peel and mash RIPE bananas (really ripe bananas are best)
  • add all of the other ingredients as directed above
  • Mix thoroughly
  • On a cookie sheet (I sprayed it with cooking spray…don’t know that you need to but I did) spoon out balls of the mixture and flatten slightly (these don’t flatten on their own like regular cookies…they stay in the shape you bake them)
  • Bake for 15 to 20 minutes

Now, I will say when I first made these, I didn’t like them that much. I thought they were really bland but for some reason by the next day, they were quite tasty. I think the bananas that I used were not ripe enough…thus my stressing the need for RIPE bananas….it’s where a lot of the flavor is going to come from.

It’s fun to eat guilt free cookies!

ENJOY!

