Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

index

Harsh reality is better than false hope any day”

If you’ve never seen this show…it’s worth a look. It’s really quite good. It’s well written, the characters are charming and you come to really care about this family and their household staff.

During this week’s episode someone said “Harsh reality is better than false hope any day.” I thought this was such a powerful quote that I paused the show, picked up my computer, opened up a “daft” page to my blog and wrote it down so I could write about it later.

In all honestly, I’m not sure there is much to add to it. The quote really speaks for itself. It’s the flip side of denial and describes perfectly the pitfall of hope, if there really is such a thing.

Hope is very important. We need it. I am a firm believer in hope. I write about it…a lot! But, false hope is utterly useless. It’s not real and in the long run, trying to survive on it does more harm than good. It only leaves us starving and malnourished.

Striking a balance between reality and hope can sometimes become a challenge but is necessary in order live a reasoned life. False hope won’t get you there but the truth, in whatever form it comes, usually does.

