Tags

, , , , , , , ,

index

I don’t eat what a lot of people eat because I am pretty much a vegan. So, people often ask me what exactly it is that I cook. Well, I cook all kinds of stuff! And I enjoy cooking! One of my favorite things to make are stuffed portobello mushrooms. I made the following recipe up with stuff I had available and it ended up being a keeper.

What you need:

  • Four large portobello mushrooms – stems removed and guts cleaned out
  • A couple of tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1 12 oz bottle of balsamic vinaigrette
  • 12 oz bag of frozen spinach – more if you like
  • 1 large yellow onion diced
  • 2 cloves minced garlic – give or take
  • 1 16 oz can of quartered artichokes – drained
  • 1 large red pepper gutted and chopped
  • Grated parmesan cheese – optional
  • basil and oregano for flavor
  • Salt and pepper for flavor
  • Shredded mozzarella cheese – (I use the vegan “Go Veggie” brand)

Preparation:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  • Remove stems and clean out the guts of the mushrooms
  • Marinate mushrooms in balsamic vinaigrette
  • Grease a 13 x 9 baking pan
  • Cook frozen spinach per directions on package
  • Add olive oil to a frying pan
  • Add diced onion to frying pan – medium low heat for 5 minutes
  • Stir in minced garlic
  • Add cooked spinach and stir with onions and garlic
  • Add chopped red pepper
  • Add artichokes
  • Add grated parmesan cheese (optional)
  • Add a dash of salt and pepper
  • Stir all ingredients together for another 5 minutes or so until well blended
  • Take marinated portobellos and put them stem side up in baking dish
  • Put a heaping spoonful of spinach mixture into each mushroom
  • Put in heated oven for 20 minutes
  • Add mozzarella cheese to the top of each mushroom and bake for another 5 minutes or until cheese is melted (Vegan cheese also works)

This is a great main dish. It is warm and filling. I like to serve it with a nice side salad or in the summer with a fresh fruit salad.

The fun thing about making stuffed portobello mushrooms is that you can use anything. I’ve used broccoli instead of spinach. I’ve used ground soy and tomato sauce with vegan cheese. I’ve used a couple of mixed bags of frozen vegges once when that was all I had.

Get creative and have fun. Just remember to eat plenty of fresh veggies because they are oh so good for you and yummy too!

ENJOY

