Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

CatBlogger

Sometimes I sit in front of a flashing cursor for some time before any ideas come and just because I have an idea doesn’t mean the words will flow easily. Writing a daily blog is a wearying process because I want to make it a meaningful experience for myself and more importantly, for my readers.

I have two audiences…myself and everyone else. When I write only for myself and I’m not vigilant about it, then my writing becomes very self indulgent. Self indulgence is boring. But, if I write only trying to please others then my words are hollow because they are not connected to me at all. Readers will sense this and be let down by what I have written. It’s a balancing act…no…it’s a tight rope walk over very high ground. It’s no easy task.

index

In order to keep blog writing interesting, I find that while I have a primary theme for my blog, writing about life with chronic illness, writing about other things keeps it interesting and hopefully helps the reader better understand me beyond my disease.

People have asked me, if I ever worry about being redundant. Do I worry that I will rehash topics already written about by others? Discussing topics that have already been written about does not mean I don’t have my own ideas. It affords me the opportunity to share my insight, even on well worn subjects. So, I don’t think people should be afraid to revisit familiar topics in their blogging efforts because each person can bring their personal perspective to these topics, giving all of us something new to learn.

When I read someone else’s blog post about a frequently visited topic, it’s delightful. It feels like putting on a pair of comfortable sweatpants or favorite slippers. There is commonality in familiar topics, an ease to them. And, sometimes writing about a familiar topic is harder than writing about something new because there is a challenge in trying to find new understanding in recurring themes.

images

The only important thing when trying to write a blog is simple. It is to write, for without the words there would be no blog but words, once written, can be edited, altered and adjusted so that ideas can be molded into cogent thoughts.

I certainly know that I won’t hit a home run with all my efforts. Nor should I expect to. I have found the irony in writing is that when I question my work, others will love it which is proof that I never know what will be effective until I hit the “publish” button and let the reader absorb my thoughts, allowing them to meld with theirs.

In my relatively limited experience thus far with blogging, I think an essential rule is to have fun, enjoy the writing process and let the experience change me for the better and in the process, hopefully the reader too.

