images

I am finally figuring out that life is full of shades of gray. And that we don’t always have the answers to the problems presented to us nor will we always know where the transitions in life are taking us until we get there.

I am finally learning that part of life is just learning to appreciate, accept and even, dare I say…enjoy the unknowns.

Now, I understand not all unknowns can be enjoyed; Like finding out you have a medical illness that is possibly life threatening or having to deal with the loss of a loved one.

But that’s not what I am talking about.

I am talking about the natural ebbs and flows of life’s journey in general. Because life after all, is a series of transitions. Childhood to young adulthood to middle age to becoming elderly.

And during this process we experience all kinds of transitions. Our first day of school, then high school, sometimes college, first jobs, first careers, first kisses, first loves, sometimes marriage, sometimes parenthood and eventually if we are lucky enough to live that long, retirement.

There are so many types of transitions. Sometimes we have to move away from home. Other times marriages don’t work out. If you’re lucky enough to have children eventually they grow up to live their own lives.

So life is all about transitions; Phases of time that bring about change.

images

And as I look back at my life, I realize I am not a person who has entered these phases in my own life with much grace. I would not say that I have been a “go with the flow” kind of gal.

In my lifetime during these uncertain, gray times, I have been very uncomfortable. I find myself preoccupied with wanting to know where I am going and what is next.

I have not been a person who transitions with ease.

I am in a transition now and I can myself getting anxious. I want answers. I want control.

But now that I recognize this about myself, I can change it. I can work on letting go of my need to know, my need to control and I can instead embrace the uncertainty and decide to view it as an adventure rather than a problem to be overcome.

Answers will come. They always do but they come in their own time even when I’ve tried to control them in the past.

So my new plan is to try to relax through this transition of uncertainty, allow the process to unfold as it should without attempting to get in the way and control it. I will be open to the change and I will be encouraged by it rather than discouraged by it.

I will look at this time of transition as an opportunity for personal growth and I will accept that I am on the path I am meant to be walking, knowing that it is okay to be uncertain and it is okay not to have answers at every turn.

images

I can enjoy the journey without fear of the destination.

